Grapefruit for the Soul

The other day due to many variables I had a terrible really bad day. Lots of little things that normally wouldn’t have bothered me this day did so and more. After nannying I came home, flopped face first onto my bed, and cried. I kept saying to myself over and over, “I give up. I give up. I give up.” I continued this mantra for a while. (Let me add in here: I did not want to kill myself. I don’t have thoughts like that. I just didn’t want to move or do anything or try.) I sat there for several minutes. My mom wanted to know what was wrong and I could not tell her. I didn’t even want to try. I just shook my head and was mute for about an hour.

In that dark hour I called out to my God. I begged Him to help me, to bring back the joy in my life. It was a very personal and simple prayer.

I then got up and ate a grapefruit. Surprisingly that had a soul lifting effect on me. Eating that grapefruit made me feel happy. I had made the choice to enjoy it.

In reality I had NOT given up. I just reached the point of ‘after all you can do.’ Because prayer is the final thing you can do after doing everything else. If you can still pray you have not given up.

After happily eating my sweet grapefruit I could smile again. I started laughing with my mom and I did some tasks I had been meaning to do.

Later as I was talking with my mom, I said, “suddenly I have so much energy and I feel so happy!” That was when I realized God answered my prayer. I thanked Him immediately. God always answers our prayers. They just aren’t always answered in such a crisp manner. This day there was a night and day difference. I ate that Grapefruit and Bam! I felt good again! What a miracle! Thank you Heavenly Father. I am so glad we have a Father in Heaven who loves us.

-Sarah S Mitchell

Leave a Reply

